#622 Golett

1920×1200 | 1920×1080 | 1600×1200

——

Golett, the Automaton Pokémon. It is said that Golett was instructed to protect people and Pokémon by the ancient civilization that created it.
– Ash’s Pokedex


When I first encountered Golett in Pokemon White, I had no idea what type it was. I was going through the game guessing types for new Pokemon I encountered, based on its appearance. So when I first saw Golett, I thought “Rock/Ground”! because it looks to be made of rocks, and its name Golett sounds like Golem (I think it’s based on a golem). So I used a Fighting move on it, thinking it’d be Super Effective. But then I got the message “it does not affect the wild Golett”. So yeah, turns out this thing is Ground/Ghost, not Rock type at all. I don’t really see the Ghost type in its design though. I’m glad that Ghost is getting new unique type combinations in Gen V, but I’m not really sure why Golett is part Ghost. Perhaps a reference to it being created/used by some ancient civilization? Seems like a bit of a stretch.

Anyway, in the anime, there’s a Golett acting as a cameraman; his trainer is a director-wannabe. From its appearances in the anime, I don’t see the Ghost connection either.

Stat-wise, it has Attack as its best stat, and decent Defenses, but poor Speed. Its unique (to its family) typing of Ground/Ghost gives it 3 immunities, the most a Pokemon can have without the aid of an ability. But it also has 5 weaknesses and only 3 resistances. Despite not being Fighting type, Golett can learn several high-powered Fighting moves.

Leave a Reply

